Behold: Supreme Comfort for My Butt

11Mar08

aeron.

Ever since posting about the Aeron desk chair,  I’ve been feeling a bit…obsessed. After all, only a couple months previously, Dr. Jill and I had discussed treating myself to a new desk chair as a means of celebrating my successful leap into the full-time freelance life. Because the chair I was using was a destined-for-the-scrap-heap piece that I had rescued from my former employer’s freight elevator and lugged home from NY to NJ — across Midtown and on the bus — piece by piece. And it was starting to fall apart. And I was experiencing a lot of back pain sitting in front of my computer for the bulk of my days.

Alas, Michael balked at the $750-$1,200 price tag.

Which makes the $300 chair I just bought last night seem like the savings of a lifetime!

quantum.

Yes. Bask in the awesomeness.

In other news, I checked out Dance Dance Party Party this past Sunday with Wendy. A freestyle dance exercise class, it’s sort of like indulging in that whole dancing in front of the mirror in your underwear thing. In group form. To all of the best guilty pleasure songs you could ever imagine.

Marinating in stranger-sweat aside, it was a damn good time. When they turned on the disco lights and turned off the overheads, I was relieved, because it had suddenly occurred to me that my dance-move repertoire left much to be desired. But as the 90 minutes went by, I found myself feeling freer and freer to embrace my inner spastic-so-you-think-you-can-dance wannabe.

My legs have felt progressively sorer as the week goes on.

Also, attended an MB seminar last week and ran into Amy from my previous writers’ group! The seminar suffered from the usual trouble of people with lower experience levels bogging the class down with the most basic of questions, but I picked up some neat tips, and it was great to run into Amy. I miss having the group around to give me the kick in the ass I need when it comes to pitching.

Eek! Must. catch. bus.

5 Responses to “Behold: Supreme Comfort for My Butt”

  1. Congrats on the new chair. If the instructions didn’t come with detailed ergonomic information, I highly suggest you google some. I had an ergonomic assessment done at my last job and learned that I was doing stuff that was not good for my body, despite having a fancy office chair. Just a few little changes helped my back enormously!

  2. 2 Kim

    to neonfoxtongue — like what!?!? please describe. I too have a fancy desk chair but still have back issues.

  3. 3 Dave

    After sitting in an Aeron at my office I had to get one for my home. I shopped around and found a website called http://www.OfficeDesigns.com. Their prices were the lowest i saw- they even shipped the chair for free. My chair arrived quickly and I’ve been sitting comfortably both at home and at my office since.

  4. 4 Zen

    That chair looks so much nicer than the white patio chair I use at home!

    As for the dance party, I’d love to try something like that sometime.

  5. Let me tell you, it’s much better than the falling-apart piece of garbage I was using, and WORLDS better than the kitchen chair I was using before that. If you’re working a lot at your home computer, I think it’s a reasonable investment to make.

    And DDPP is hit-or-miss depending upon the dance mix that week. That first week’s mix was awesomeness, but this past week, we weren’t feeling very high-energy. Hoop class, however (which I think I mentioned to you) is consistently awesome! Seriously! I want to share it with the world!


Leave a Reply

