Evolutionary Process.

07May08

I saw Dr. Jill last night, which was long overdue. I mean, I had canceled our appointment the week before because of a panic-inducing workload, and before that, I had experienced the thrill of an empty condo (which led me to question the strength of my marriage), and before that, I had tried to divorce Michael because of my monthly PMDD…

I was not having a stable month.

During my session, we managed to tease out all of the priorities that I had been dropping to the bottom of my priority list due to an inability to STOP. WORKING.

They are the following:

  • exercise more than once a week (at the moment, i just do hoop class every Tuesday)
  • stop living on ramen and Smart Ones meals because I have turned FAT
  • don’t let those Date Nights falter! (the past two weeks’ worth were crowded out due to freelance projects and Michael’s trip to upstate NY
  • find a way to ditch the Sun without becoming poor and destitute, so as to have more time for writing projects
  • maybe find a CBT-focused marriage counselor?
  • oh, and also have more sex. and while having sex, don’t respond to Michael’s husky-voiced dirty talk with stuff like, “Why? Are you trying to suffocate me?” and “I’m busy.”

I’m thinking I should draw up an actual working-at-home schedule. With limits on my work-time, I may be able to manage my time more effectively.

In other news, I went to choir rehearsal at CUC Monday night, which I find promising mainly because they only perform a few times a year…a much less daunting obligation than my previous choir. Still, It was way different than what I was used to at St. Philip’s, and I even sorta missed Phil & co. We’ll see how it goes.

Also, I am superexcited because me and Michael booked a B&B in Auburn, NY for our one-year wedding anniversary!!! There will be a roomy whirlpool bath in our room! And we will go to wineries! And I will buy things!

!!!

Busy month ahead (amazing how, only a few days ago, my agenda was empty). Crossing my fingers that I can handle it.

5 Responses to “Evolutionary Process.”

  1. 1 Diana

    update us on how the B&B is! The boyfriend and I are planning on going this summer in the NY/NJ area, because a weekend at a B&B is unfortunately the only kind of vacation I can afford to take right now 😦 And by right now, I mean “for the next few years.” Yay, freelancing.

  2. Yes, the good ‘ol weekend “vacation.” It’s a good thing I’d get sick of Michael after more than a few days anyway. I’ll give you the lowdown on the area after our trip. I’m super excited!

  3. 3 Alicia

    CBT? What does that stand for? Couples Based Therapy?

  4. @alicia: cognitive behavioral therapy

  5. 5 Alicia

    Hmmm…sounds to me like B.F. Skinner and the rats.


Leave a Reply

